Top 10 Signs Of Impending U.S. Police State

Conveniently, the two alleged purposes dovetail, so it's a matter of philosophy as to why they are doing it. First of all we could go back to laws about taxation. I'm not an expert on this but I've read some of the positions of those taxpayers' rights groups, and at the very least they make it clear that most of us are overtaxed for services that we don't need or want.

The Internet exists in a "zone" that many people regard as sacrosanct. It's not because we are all criminals, or tax cheats, but because we don't want stupid and unnecessary regulations placed upon our online activites, placed there by a greedy and philosophically outdated government. If I make money on the Internet it winds up as tax dollars anyway, eventually. I honestly believe that the Internet is outside the regulations of any countries government, at least when we are talking about non-criminal activity. And selling online is not illegal. Making a significant amount of money and not reporting it is illegal, yes, but what's that amendment where they need evidence before they can get a warrant to search for evidence?

The US would be better off if we had more successful online sellers. The money enters the local economy indirectly.

I reject the idea that every time a US citizen makes a trade or a barter, or some casual sales take place, that the government should be involved. That's like the Mafia. I think that the government is entitled to some tax dollars, though this is also open to debate. I'm not hard-core about it though. I like using the library, and I guess I got something from their schools. I use public transportation. The point is, I've always paid taxes since I worked, and I've always accepted it.